Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

November 19, 2019     Elle     ,

Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina LaurenTwice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren
Publication Date: October 22, 2018
Genres: Romance
Purchase a Copy: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Kindle Edition| Listen with Audible
Add to Goodreads
My Rating : two-half-stars

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

Release Date: October 22, 2019
Actual Rating: 2.5-3 stars

Contemporary Romance | Second Chances | Actors/Actresses

Twice in a Blue Moon is a little different than Christina Lauren’s previous releases. It’s missing the humor that I have come to associate with them along with the heart stopping love that I wanted. In fact, I felt this book felt more forced than their other books and had a very hard time WANTING to continue reading. While I appreciate the overall story- especially the “story within the story” and the second chance love between Sam and Tate, I didn’t care much for anything else. There were many instances where I could skip over whole paragraphs and not even miss anything and this told me that the story was way to slow and a tad boring. While I do love this writing duos other novels AND will continue reading their books in the future, this just wasn’t really the book for me.

Other readers are likely to feel different than I did about this novel so take my review with a grain of salt and go into it with an open mind if you plan on reading it. Christina Lauren is an awesome writing duo and while this wasn’t my favorite book by them there are still things I liked about it.


Tags: ,

Leave a Reply