Asking for a Truffle by Dorothy St. James

June 5, 2018     Elle     ,

Asking for a Truffle by Dorothy St. JamesAsking for Truffle by Dorothy St. James
Publication Date: September 12, 2017
Series: The Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery series #1
Published by Crooked Lane Books Genres: Cozy Mystery
Pages: 326
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased

Purchase a Copy: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Kindle Edition| Listen with Audible
Add to Goodreads
My Rating : three-stars

When Charity Penn receives a letter saying she won a trip to Camellia Beach, South Carolina complete with free cooking lessons at the town's seaside chocolate shop, The Chocolate Box, she's immediately skeptical. She never entered any contest. Her former prep school friend offers to look into the phony prize--only to end up drowned in a vat of chocolate. Struck with guilt, Penn heads to the southern beach town to investigate why he was killed. But as wary as she is of the locals, she finds herself lured into their eccentric vibe, letting her defenses melt away and even learning the art of crafting delicious chocolates. That is, until delight turns bittersweet as she steps straight into the midst of a deadly plot to destroy the seaside town. Now, only Penn's quick thinking and a mysterious cask of rare chocolate can save the town she's learning to love. Rich and decadent, Asking for Truffle, the first in a new cozy series by Dorothy St. James, is sure to be a delectable read for fans of JoAnna Carl and Joanne Fluke.

I am going to keep this review short because I don’t have too much to say about the book. First and foremost, I think this is a good start to the series but I am hoping the books improve as it continues. Otherwise, I won’t waste my money as the newer books are pricey for the length. Next, there were a couple of things that bothered me about this book. First, the series name is A Southern Chocolate Shop mystery. Nothing about this book felt southern to me besides the characters saying where they were from. And when I say nothing I mean ZILCH. There wasn’t any character slang, there didn’t seem to be any southern values, and these characters certainly didn’t have the southern charm I look for when reading a book based in the south. Next, the way Penn kept harping on her inheritance (or lack of as her family doesn’t want to give it to her) bordered on insanity. How many people could she seriously accuse of wanting to use her for her money?? It was CONSTANT. I got it after the first time- your dads side of the family (who don’t support her) have cash. You don’t have to keep saying it. It was over the top and made her seem like an uptight brat. And honestly, it annoyed the heck out of me. Finally, her DOG. Get it some training huh? It bit EVER SINGLE CHARACTER in this book. And she didn’t even like it- this was made clear numerous times. GAH! I was losing my mind. 

Aside from all that, I did feel like Penn was a true amateur sleuth. She clearly had no clue what she was doing when she was trying to solve the murder of her old friend which made it believable. And the ending was cute too. So it had THAT going for it. Other than all this though, I found this one to be a decent read, not the best, but good despite that crap I mentioned above. Would I read the second story? Only if it goes on sale. I don’t want to waste my money on a book that is going to grate on my nerves like this one.


Tags: ,

Leave a Reply