The Five Stages of Falling in Love by Rachel Higginson

January 28, 2016     Elle     ,

The Five Stages of Falling in Love by Rachel HigginsonThe Five Stages of Falling in Love by Rachel Higginson
Publication Date: January 27, 2015
Genres: Romance
Pages: 305
Format: ARC
Source: Author

Purchase a Copy: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Kindle Edition| Listen with Audible
Add to Goodreads
My Rating : five-stars

Will Elizabeth Carlson ever be able to find love again?

Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died from cancer. Grady's prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her?

When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn't just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she's capable of ever giving again.

As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there's more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there's more to life than death.

Oh. My. Gosh. This book is something else. It is so beautifully written and heartbreakingly real that you will FEEL like you are in the character’s position. I loved and adored everything about this book from the characters to the well-rounded plot. The author, Rachel Higginson, successfully weaves a beautiful story that incorporates all the stages of loss: grief, denial, anger, etc. with finding love again. While this was very difficult for the main character, Elizabeth, all of her feelings were exactly on point and readers cannot help but understand her side of things. Wow, this book just totally melted my heart and honestly made me cry. It is a gorgeous story- one all book addicts must read!

So why is this book so special? First off, it deals with a very delicate subject matter (grief and feelings after death). For some this may be hard to read and honestly, it is. Because no one wants to imagine this happening to us. But the author is very sensitive in her writing and its actually quite compelling to see how the stages of grief and loss play out. Especially because it is so achingly real within this story. In addition to this, his death (the death of Elizabeth’s husband) doesn’t just affect just Elizabeth. It affects her four young children, and his parents respectively. This makes it hard to read because not only is she grieving but we watch her children grieve too. Gah, so sad! Another wonderful thing about this book that hooked me is the fact that Elizabeth had some very true feelings. She didn’t want to move on, knew she couldn’t, and wasn’t afraid to show this. Her feelings were very real and frankly touching because although she was sad she was also strong. She wants to protect herself and her family. Finally, Ben (Elizabeth’s new next door neighbor) totally changes Elizabeth’s life. He is there for her and her children, he is her shoulder to cry on, and he doesn’t give up on her even though she tries very hard to keep him from falling. Gah, total book HUSBAND right here!

Overall, this is a seriously gorgeous book that it a MUST READ. I honestly cannot say enough good things about it so you’ll have to read it to see what I mean. And don’t forget to bring the tissues- you will need them!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply