The Wicked Girls by Alex Marwood

July 9, 2015     Elle     , ,

The Wicked Girls by Alex MarwoodThe Wicked Girls by Alex Marwood
Publication Date: February 1, 2012
Genres: Thriller and Suspense
Pages: 378
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased

Purchase a Copy: Amazon Kindle | Amazon Kindle Edition| Listen with Audible
Add to Goodreads
My Rating : one-star

The Edgar Award-winning psychological thriller that asks the question: how well can you truly know anyone?

On a fateful summer morning in 1986, two eleven-year-old girls meet for the first time. By the end of the day, they will both be charged with murder. Twenty-five years later, journalist Kirsty Lindsay is reporting on a series of sickening attacks on young female tourists in a seaside vacation town when her investigation leads her to interview carnival cleaner Amber Gordon. For Kirsty and Amber, it’s the first time they’ve seen each other since that dark day so many years ago. Now with new, vastly different lives—and unknowing families to protect—will they really be able to keep their wicked secret hidden?

Gripping and fast-paced, with an ending that will stay with you long after you’ve read it, The Wicked Girls takes you to a thrillingly dark place you’ve never been before. For fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Tana French.

“The Wicked Girls is ingenious and original. Real, chilling, true to its world and its characters. In short, a knock-out.” —Laura Lippman, New York Times bestselling author of And When She Was Good and What the Dead Know

I got this book a couple of months ago and I was really looking forward to reading it (the synopsis is very interesting). However, I found this book to be very confusing, it lacked all character development, it was boring, and I felt no connection with any of the characters. Maybe this is due to the writing style, I really don’t know. I hardly every leave a book unread when I start it but this one just bored me to tears. I really wish it was better as it could have made such a fantastic read. O well, on to the next one. Hopefully someone else will enjoy it more than I did. It just was not a book for me.


Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply